Carter lake construction and October hole - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-20-2007   #1

Golden, Colorado
Carter lake construction and October hole

So, I'm going to the Mabon fest at PlanetBluegrass this weekend! Sweet. I was hoping that we might get a release one of those days to make October hole playable. I'm in my first few months of kayaking So, I'm not doing anything but surfs and spins. So, I'll settle for something lower.

But, in doing some research I found some info about Carter Lake:
Larimer County Parks - Carter Lake
and
cbs4denver.com - Low Water At Carter Lake Forces Some Boats Out

So, for any locals or those in the know:
Does this construction and subsequent low-water pretty much spell doom for any hopes of O-Hole running again this fall?

Does the addition of an extra outlet mean lower levels flowing into October hole in general throughout the year?

Like I said I'm new to paddling and having trouble wrapping my head around all the politics and realities of water resource management. I'd like to learn more about it.

smolakian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2007   #2

Loveland, Colorado
All,
The construction of the additional outlet at Carter Lake is to help meet water demands on the southern portion of the Colorado-Big Thompson Project served by Carter Lake and the St. Vrain Supply Canal.

Reclamation owns Carter Lake reservoir and its dams. Typically, in late fall/early winter, while water demands are low, we inspect the tunnel through the dam that feeds the canal and do maintenance at the outlet, if needed. When we are working at the dam, outlet, or tunnel, in the past, water has not run through the tunnel and outlet. The additional outlet currently being constructed will allow for water to continue serving those who need it while annual maintenance work is being done on the primary outlet.