Carlisle oar extensions. Anybody ever use 'em? - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 06-12-2010   #1

Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
Carlisle oar extensions. Anybody ever use 'em?

I have a pair of 9' Cataract oars. They work great for day-trips on my local river but are insufficient for the longer larger river trips. Someone recently recommended the Carlisle oar extenders. At 40 bucks a pop I want to be sure these work. Anybody ever use these? What do you think?

jeroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-12-2010   #2

Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
I've used them before and they get the job done. They are also way cheaper than buying a second set of oars. I graduated from Carlisle oars to ash ones a while ago, but I happen to still have a few extenders in my garage. I can certainly do better than $40 each - let me know if you decide to go that way.
kate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010   #3

North Fork, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1980
I bought a new NRS raft in 2008 with 9 foot oars, two extensions, and a 10 foot spare. The long oars are needed for flat water or where river width and rocks suggest shorter oars. If I needed a spare oar, I would implement the 10 foot oar and one oar with extensions.

They work well. I am still packing them for the original purpose, though I have added two 9 foot spare oars instead of the 10 for long trips. The 10 foot oars do make a difference in controlability and effect.
eideho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2010   #4

at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020