Butterflies before the rapids - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-16-2010   #1
The Russian

SLC, Utah
Paddling Since: 2005
Butterflies before the rapids

I was talking to a friend of mine about the upcoming trip and she was telling me she is getting butterflies already. So I was wondering, are the butterflies in your stomach right before the rapids, is that the feeling of the adrenaline pumping in your brain or just fear?

Do those butterflies ever go away? I've been boating for 5 years now or so and those butterflies don't seem to ease up at all, am I just a noob?

Alex
(friday, bored at work)

kazak4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2010   #2

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007
I think those butterflies are a natural part of our fight/flight resposne to danger. They shouldnt go away, until maybe after you run the rapid. Healthy fear is a good part of boating.
Blackshire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010   #3
H2 Hoes

Kayak, Colorado
go watch mats summer time video when your board at work i squish butterflies
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2010   #4
The Russian

SLC, Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by hartle View Post
go watch mats summer time video when your board at work i squish butterflies
link?
Old 04-16-2010   #5

Tahoe City, California
Guess I'm a noob too then. But I actually am - about 24 days in an oar frame total.