Bruised Knees - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-13-2011   #1

bc, CA
Paddling Since: 2007
Bruised Knees

This is my first year of playboating...mostly just ran rivers before and did a little surfing. I am not very good yet but do try many different things. I notice that after a play session my knees are badly bruised inside and out especially on the right side. Is this normal?

brenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2011   #2
Spits Hot Fire

N. Cascades, Washington
That's what she said.
Old 08-13-2011   #3

Land of Lovin, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
First off you have to use a pillow when kneeling for BJ's, this helps prevent the bruising greatly.

Seriously though, are you tight in your boat? If you're sliding around you will be slamming your knees into your boat and causing bruises.

If you're definitely snug in your boat you should try adding some extra minicell foam as padding where you are being bruised - sounds like the outside right of your boat? I can only boat my husbands Prijon if I add padding to the left side as my knee presses agains a bolt on the left and bruises me.
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2011   #4

Arkansas during the off-season Nomadic during the summers! :), Arkansas & Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jensjustduckie View Post
First off you have to use a pillow when kneeling for BJ's, this helps prevent the bruising greatly.

Seriously though, are you tight...
You know I was gonna scold Flowtorch for scaring away women paddlers...assuming Brenda is female. The I saw this from JEN...come on be nice to the girl!

Brenda...these guys are just bullies and don't represent the large community of cool paddlers! If you're having knee trouble I suggest you "position" yourself in a manner in which to get the job (playboating) done to the best of your ability.
gannon_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011   #5

Land of Lovin, Colorado