Boat for REALLY BIG guy!!! - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-17-2004   #1

Boat for REALLY BIG guy!!!

Hey folks,

I'm 6'3, 320lbs and trying to find a ww kayak (I'm tired of rafting!). Any suggestions? Since I'm new to kayaking, I need something that is forgiving and something I can roll easily as not to create a human dam downriver Thanks

canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2004   #2

Boat for REALLY BIG guy!!!

Demo a Wavesport Super EZ. I'm a big guy too... I'm 6'2" and go 230 w/ size 13 feet... great boat!!
forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004   #3

Thanks Forester. A quick question: If a boat's capacity is for example 240lbs, will my 320lbs cause its hydrodynamics to be screwed up?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2004   #4

Hydrodynamics

The quick answer is yes, you're outside the specs.
But you have to get in the boat to see if you're so far outside the specs that you don't like how the boat reacts.

I'm really short - 26 inch inseam - size 8 feet - I can pretty much paddle a matchbox. But I don't like most really small boats because at 180 lbs the small boats are really really SLOW. I end up pushing a lot of water.

If you find a boat you like, let me know. The guitarist in my band is looking for a boat for the bigger man. He's 6'5" and solid.

I second the vote for trying out a Super EZ btw.
akahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004   #5

Re: Hydrodynamics

Quote:
Originally Posted by akahn
The quick answer is yes, you're outside the specs.
But you have to get in the boat to see if you're so far outside the specs that you don't like how the boat reacts.

I'm really short - 26 inch inseam - size 8 feet - I can pretty much paddle a matchbox. But I don't like most really small boats because at 180 lbs the small boats are really really SLOW. I end up pushing a lot of water.