Best river runner/playboat - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-15-2014   #1

Atlanta, Georgia
Best river runner/playboat

Hi all. I am fairly new to kayaking and am looking to move from inflatables to a hard shell. What boat would y'all recommend for some beginner play boating that can still get me down river fairly quickly on my longer trips. I will probably buy used but there are so many choices Id like to know what to look for. Thanks!

Mab86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2014   #2

Arcata, California
Paddling Since: 2013
Bliss stick rad is a sweet boat that plays well and guy do some gnarly stuff with them.
Giarc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014   #3

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Jackson Fun, Wavesport Fuse, Pyranha Varun - most brands will have the river play/free runner design. Some are even going a more retro route like the Loki or Axiom for the old school play and more of a downriver boat. Look for something in the last ~5 years as I think the outfitting has come a long way. Other than that make sure you fit comfortably and try and get a few on the water/pool to get a feel for them.
kayakfreakus is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2014   #4

Enfield, New Hampshire
Paddling Since: 1990
Play/river runner

If you want to go short, the funs and older Stars are hard to beat for a play/ rr combo, as long as you are OK with the JK outfitting which really is not bad.

If you want something longer but a little restrictive in the play category, meaning it will allow only surfing, and squirting, get the RPM series.They are easy to roll, run rivers easily, you can get them cheaper than their modern counterparts. Their only drawback is the primitive outfitting but you can easily modify that to fit you..
JIMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014   #5

185 lb. waste of space, Keeping Glenwood Springs real
Paddling Since: 1864
Dagger kingpin