Best plastics - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-12-2013   #1

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2013
Best plastics

Hello everyone. I am new to kayaking and am researching into the durability of brands. I am leaning toward Pyranha, but a Liquid Logic salesman says the plastic is junk and will crack and because there is no stateside factory here for Pyranha, warranty is a nightmare. Internet searches confirm Pyranha cracks. Liquid Logic research finds very few complaints of cracking. What suggestions might anyone have?

Yoush is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2013   #2

Fort Collins
I suspect all manufactures have trouble boats from time to time, but I think you can trust the major players: liquid logic, Jackson, fluid, dagger, wavesport, and even pyrhana. If you do a search, you can find lots of "my plastic is better than your plastic" posts. I think 'LL and Jackson are known for their exceptional customer service. Get a comfortable used boat, probably a rivers runner for starting, and go have fun.
Enjoy, it is great!

Also for warranty fun, see below:
https://www.mountainbuzz.com/forums/f...oat-46049.html
Old 01-12-2013   #3

at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020
Never listen to a salesman whose method is disparaging the competition. Stand on the merits of your own product.
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2013   #4

Glen Vegas, Florida
Paddling Since: 92
If you are new to the sport, any kayak should be strong enough. No need to worry about breaking a boat. If and when you get to the level where your backyard becomes a boat graveyard, the only boat that is noticeably stronger would be a prijon. All boats break.
Pizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013   #5

golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1997
plastics 101