Best Downriver for 5-7 120lbs? - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-13-2007   #1

Best Downriver for 5-7 120lbs?

I have recently been told that getting into a ezg42 would be putting the cart before the horse. I am new to kayaking. I have a perception acadia and need something that moves more.
I want to be able to practice some play moves, but I also don't want to jump so far ahead that I'm rolling every other minute because my boat has too much of an edge.
So if EZG42 is too much then what is the best Downriver that has some play?

55snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2007   #2

Hey,

I'm a little shorter than you (5' 4"). I have a Dagger Juice that I love - got it as my second boat after discovering that a GT does not really turn, or play, very well. I've taken it down many class IV runs as well as the occasional class V and it works pretty well (the lack of performance on class V is probably more my lack of skills rather than the boat). Unfortunately, I've found the Rx (Dagger's successor to the Juice) is a little wide for most girls (dunno if you are male or female, though, but unless you have wide shoulders it's not a great boat).

I've also tried a Jackson 2Fun, and love it for playing but found it a little tippy for any serious river running. I've used it on class III and IV, but didn't really like it - no secondary stability, really. Just my 2cents.

-Peta
Oopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007   #3

Yeah, I'm a girl. So my shoulders are small.
The juice huh. So many times I'm told to get off it and now I'm told to get in it.
Thank you for the info. I will check it out.
Ummm, are you selling yours?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2007   #4

No way am I selling mine - like I said, I love it. Who's been telling you not to get a Juice? I've never heard much bad about them. The only part is that they are hard to find now they've been out of production for a couple of years.
Old 08-16-2007   #5