Beginner's blues - Mountain Buzz

View Poll Results: What kayak brand is your favorite?
Jackson Kayak 8 53.33%
Liquid Logic 3 20.00%
Wavesport 4 26.67%
Pyrahna 4 26.67%
Fluid 1 6.67%
Perception 0 0%
Dagger 4 26.67%
Prion 0 0%
Riot 0 0%
Waka 2 13.33%
Other 1 6.67%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

Old 05-28-2015   #1

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2015
Beginner's blues

I'm new to the whole kayak world and ... I love it! I constantly find myself checking USGS for the current CFS level or watching kayak videos whenever I am bored. Kayaking is almost always on my mind. Now yesterday I took a swim... I wouldn't necessarily call it a gnarly swim but I was honestly kinda shaken. I was completely swept into the waves and could not for the life of me get the air I needed. I kept trying to swim and get my self into an eddy and out of the water, I had run out of so much energy and was unsure if I'd get oxygen that I honestly was at the point of giving up. I swam over a pour over rock and bruised up my arm and eventually eddyed out and FINALLY caught my breath. My boat and paddle were saved;I climbed into my boat and with my shaky hands grabbed the paddle.Assisted by one of my excellent teachers who helped me ferry across exiting the whitewater park. At this point I was extremely lightheaded,I paddled down the river for about ten minutes and swam again and this time instead of paddling on I walked to the take out. Rough day... Especially when non kayakers find out and make fun of you for out of all things swimming. They don't know a dang thing! I am wondering how do you (other experienced kayakers) trust your abilities and get back into your boat after a scary kayak experience? Any advice for an aspiring newbie?

Advertisement

Old 05-28-2015   #2

Copper Mountain, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005