beginner deciding what boat to get [jackson rouge] - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 06-23-2012   #1

nooo, usaaa
Paddling Since: 2012
beginner deciding what boat to get [jackson rouge]

[im sorry if this is the wrong section to post this in] im a noob who is getting into whitewater kayaking. i have done class 2-3 rivers so i have a little experience. im interested in bigger rivers more than narrow creeks. i want a boat that is on the smaller side [i am 6'1" but only weigh about 140 lbs] so far ive been looking into boats and thought that the jackson zen and fun runner looked good, but i dont know if i can afford them. my local kayak shop has 2 boats that are in my price range. a jackson rouge 9/10 and a jackson villain from a year or two ago. im leaning towards the rouge 9 because its more versatile and since im a beginner i dont need a boat that can do class 5 rivers. im worried about how capable it will be when i want to do more difficult stuff, but i like how i will be able to use it for calm water. does anyone have experience with this boat or similar boats? also, i live near the adirondacks and vermont, does anyone know of any class 2-3 rivers that are good for a beginner? thank you

jimbothethird is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-23-2012   #2

Aurora, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
check other post.

I just posted on your other thread. All the boats mentioned are fantastic for beginners of your size. Check it out.

Kim
kclowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012   #3

Vernal, Utah
I bought a used villian for my first boat and I really like it so far
Clobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-23-2012   #4

Riverdale, Utah
Paddling Since: 1977
Villain S would be your size; not the large Villain, which is similar to the Mega-Rocker in size.
wasatchbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012   #5

surrounded by mountains, Colorado