Advice to increase roll speed - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-30-2014   #1

Lakewood, Colorado
Advice to increase roll speed

So I have been kayaking for a few years now, I would say I typically feel confident on class IV water, and am really looking to improve and refine some of my skills this season. I think I have a pretty solid roll and am confident that I can hit it when needed. However, I have had a few occasions on shallow water where not being quick enough has caused me some problems.

My typical scenario is once I get flipped is to automatically go to the forward setup position... hold on until my boat rights itself upsidedown, take a proverbial deep breath, roll up, and proceed to style (hopefully) the rest of the rapid. 95% of the time this works great, but then there are occasions where I roll up to find myself going down the next drop sideways, or banging my head on the ground while waiting to get into a good setup position to attempt a roll.

For example, a few weeks ago a got flipped going down green bridge on waterton and ran it about 3/4 of it upside down. After I flipped I felt my boat was not in the correct position to attempt a roll... so I just held on upside down with my face tucked to the boat until I could feel the boat was completely upside. Then I rolled up and was fine... I banged my back on some rocks and got lucky I didnt drill my head on something. I cracked a helmet last season in a similar situation on another river.

Just curious whether this is the best thing you can do in this type of situation, or whether anyone has any technique to roll up more quickly in shallow manky runs? It seems that once the boat flips, getting the boat completely rolled over into the proper setup position is the limiting factor on speed. If so, it doesnt seem likely that you can do much here, and it is more a result of the unique conditions of the rapid... any thoughts?

bdf48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2014   #2
addict