A stupid question... - Mountain Buzz

Old 11-24-2003   #1

A stupid question...

What is the advantage of having feathering on a paddle? I am relatively new at kayaking and learned to paddle with no feathering and it just seems like a pain to have 45 feathering.

I am also looking to buy a paddle for surfing and some flatwater and I am 6' 2". I am looking to spend about $200. What would be good paddle/size?

Thanx a bunch
Jeremy

buick88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-24-2003   #2

Snowmass, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1983
Feathering, I believe, came from the racing aspect of paddling. A feathered blade cuts through the wind more efficiantly, allowing for a faster and less taxing stroke. This is useful for us non-racers as well. Have you ever had to paddle up wind? It can be tough to get that paddle around without hitting oneself in the face with the shaft in a stiff wind. Feathering definately helps. Also, when playing it seems to be a good thing to have a fast paddle speed. I rarely see any 45 degree feathered paddles anymore. They tend to cause pre-mature wrist problems. More common now are 30 degree, I think. I may be off by a few degrees.

I can't help you out much with a recomondation, as I have not been in the market. Hope that helps. Maybe someone will retort my explination, as I may be mistaken. Happy hunting...paddle hunting, that is!
Old 11-25-2003   #3

Lyons, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
Send a message via AIM to erdvm1
You can have all your questions answered.

Go to www.jimisnyder.com

This is Jim Snyder's web page, Read "the feather rap" Jim's been building paddles for over 25 years and has done a ton of research on the topic. Some of the information may be just his opinion but it's very interesting. In his opinion there's a lot more to it than just the wind aspect. Check it out. Matt
erdvm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-25-2003   #4
gh

pnw, Colorado