Old 12-31-2015   #1
RED CLIFF, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
What's in your kitchen box?

I'm building up my kitchen box and was curious what is everyone's essentials in their kitchen boxes. Pots and pans and anything else. I'm looking to stock up for a 12 person trip. Also would be advice for what is good for materials of the pots and pans. Is Teflon bad? Ceramic or strictly cast iron? What's the best?
Kitchen box containers as far as dry box or nrs box or pelican case is good advice as well. Just curious what others are using.

Thanks guys!

DIRIGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015   #2
Jenks, Oklahoma

I have been using the above as a cook box for several years. Also on many trips just as a waterproof container for gear.

Actually it has worked better for me than a real aluminum stand up kitchen box. My box does set on the ground most of the time. I put cooking gear no food in my box so that reduces the need to have a elevated setup.

I was very dubious of the system of elastic cords really working. Then the box was upside down in river current for quite a while and the box did not leak.

No connection to the company at all, just purchased one and so far it has worked as advertised for me.

okieboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015   #3
RED CLIFF, Colorado
Thanks, yeah I'm looking to just keep kitchen stuff like plates, pots and pans and cutting boards in the box. Just curious as to WHAT pots and pans do you put in there, I'd like to have a box that is just overall a grab and go box that I don't have to load every time.
Old 12-31-2015   #4
NIMBY, Oregon
Paddling Since: Womb
No Teflon... unless you like it in your food over time. Cast iron or stainless steel cookware is ideal.
heavyswimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015   #5
RED CLIFF, Colorado
What about ceramic?
Old 12-31-2015   #6
Evergreen, Colorado
I made something similar to this, filled with kitchen tools from the good will.