Store your drysuit with the zipper unzipped? - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-26-2016   #1

Great Falls, Montana
Paddling Since: .3
Store your drysuit with the zipper unzipped?

Did you all know this?? I just learned this today from Kokatat. When your suit is not in use, the zipper should be unzipped because they are compression style zippers and will lose tension if stored zipped. Good tip that I though I would pass on. Sorry if everyone already knew that and if so why didn't you tell me?

ob1coby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-26-2016   #2

Cascade, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1997
....but pack with zippers closed

I totally agree for long-term storage, but to build on that: I always pack mine away zipped. I went through three drysuits in three years and each time it was zippers breaking from being folded too tightly and teeth separating. When it's zipped up, it's reinforced and won't get folded or crack. I've been doing this for 5 years now and my zipper is still plenty dry. In the off-season, yes. Hang in the closet unzipped. Stuffing it in the gear bag and the end of a day, zip it up. That's my 12 cents.
dthurbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016   #3
Beginner

Eastern Slope, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980
Quote:
Originally Posted by dthurbs View Post
I totally agree for long-term storage, but to build on that: I always pack mine away zipped. I went through three drysuits in three years and each time it was zippers breaking from being folded too tightly and teeth separating. When it's zipped up, it's reinforced and won't get folded or crack. I've been doing this for 5 years now and my zipper is still plenty dry. In the off-season, yes. Hang in the closet unzipped. Stuffing it in the gear bag and the end of a day, zip it up. That's my 12 cents.