Old 09-03-2015   #1
grand junction, Colorado
Star inflatables?

Hey , anyone have experience with Star inflatable boats? Seems like the price is right? quality?? Thanks.

marchese68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015   #2
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Mike from Star might chime in here, I've never owned one bit have paddled a few. Construction seems good given the value, they have some cool diminishing tube designs, and the slice is awesome. I can't think of a better made boat from overseas... I'd say even with RMR.

k2andcannoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015   #3
Eagle, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2005
Had a Star Super-bug for several years so I have some experience. IMO they are good boats for the $$. They are glued PVC so don't expect to get 20 years out of one. Mine (the super bug) was crazy heavy for a 15' boat, especially since it didn't have an inflated floor (it has a suspended membrane floor with drain holes, 13" off the bottom of the tubes). This was mainly due to all the extra rubber they glue on. It didn't roll/fold worth a damn, also due to the heavy rubber strakes and bottom armor. It rowed fine when it wasn't overloaded and held up well for the time that I had it.
Grifgav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015   #4
Reno, Nevada
Paddling Since: 2006
We bought a used Eastern Star from an outfitter in Truckee and so far it has been really great. We are mostly doing single day family trips, but it is holding up pretty well considering we got it used.
Creetch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015   #5
Happy wit it...

Originally Posted by marchese68 View Post
Hey , anyone have experience with Star inflatable boats? Seems like the price is right? quality?? Thanks.
I have had my Star Wonderbug for 13 years now. The boat has work out great for me. It does around 25 to 35 runs per season now.

I paid $2250 for it new at the time, but the price has gone up to $2970 now.

I have had zero problems with the glued pvc issue.