Star & Rocky Mountain Rafts - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-29-2016   #1
Herm

Jensen, Utah
Paddling Since: 1966
Star & Rocky Mountain Rafts

I've been running the rivers of the west for 50 years, and during that time I've learned a lot about infltable boats. Indeed I know many of the folks who manufacture the boats, and in the documentation of Inflatable Histories I'm doing, everyone has been extremely cooperative, cooperative to the point of sharing their difficulties, warts and the issues they have encountered. In several cases their help in documenting their history comes dangerously close to taunting for litigation. That's quite admirable. Everyone has been cooperative save two manufacturers. Now the questions I would like answers to are quite simple, things like:
1.) If anything important in addition to the bio in your website please let me know, I’m especially interested in how you made the transition from using outdoor gear to designing river inflatables. I’m assuming you started using basic drafting?
2.) How did you fund the initial manufacture and how you designed your boats.
3.) How/why you chose the name “Star?”
4.) Is the U.S. Coast Guard Manufacturer’s Hull Serial Number: XEQ? If not what is it and do the letters stand for anything.
5.) Names and short bios of other significant people in your company.
6.) Names and information on significant people who were your first big sale, etc.
7.) Did Zebec/Woosung build your first boat? What year? Who did you work with at Woosung?
8.) Challenges and how you overcame them with Zebec/Woosang.
9.) What model Leafield valve did you start with and about when did you change models? Do you use the D7 now?
10.) How did you determine any modifications or changes in design and why they were made (like changes in overlapping wrap of floor, PSI rating recommendation for floor & tubes.)
11.) How many threads /square foot on the drop stitch? And what is the tear strength of a square foot of that fabric.