Old 07-09-2015   #1
Denver, Colorado
RMR vs old Achilles

Good evening,
I may have found a deal on a new RMR 14 foot boat, can get it for 2079, 20% off the retail of 2599.
I am currently running a 1985 Achilles bucket boat with a stretched floor and some of the strafing/bumper guard starting to peel in most of the guard. It is separated at one of the seams.
Debating buying a new one as I recently picked up a nrs bighorn frame that I will need to cut to fit the old Achilles, but don't want to cut it if I will need it longer for a newer raft in a few years. The current frame is too long and too wide.
How much more will I love the self bailing, what kind of life span can I count on for a PVC boat that's new. This old Achilles was used professionally for awhile and is still going strong, it is now 30 years old and probably has a decent amount of life left in it.

Please share thoughts and suggestions, I'm new to the rafting game, but hooked.

jonseim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015   #2
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980
Hi Jon

IMHO a sel bailing floor is a big improvement. ...that will = lots of smiles.

As a private boater you should see many years of life from that boat.....exactly how many....I have no idea.

If 2kish is what you got to is your rmr or a older used hypalon self think I would spend more and buy a lightly used hyside or othe hypalon boat.....plastic for sure works.....I just like rubber better for some reason.....may be it is the weight and roll up difference. ...I like smaller and lighter gear.

shredder-scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015   #3
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
The first time you plow through a big wave and see the boat half full of water one second, then watch it all drain out in about 10 seconds, you'll be sold on the self bailer.

I'll let others chime in on the rest of the debate.