Old 05-20-2016   #1
Riverton, Utah
Paddling Since: 2005
PFD recommendations/thoughts

Ok, here's the deal... since last year I have dropped 100lbs. I was 300lbs and now I'm just under 200lbs, probably still going to lose 20 more pounds before I stabilize at around 175lbs.

I've been rafting for several years and have always used something like the NRS Big Water with the head bolster thing on the back. I really like that PFD but it bites me in my arm pits when I'm rowing. But I've always used it because 1 - it fit me and 2 - it floated my big azz pretty well.

Now, I'm looking to buy a new PFD. I still want lots of float, I don't like the idea of sinking. But now that I'm 1/3 less in size I can look into other designs/options that are maybe more comfortable.

The Kokatat Maximus has been recommended and I've tried one on and it felt pretty good. But I'm new to these designs of PFDs so I'm asking for some recommendations. Yeah, I know, like asking what beer you like, but I would like some of your thoughts.

As I said, 175-200lbs, I'm 5'10" tall and I will use it for rafting on the Green and Colorado rivers.

DanCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016   #2
East of the Pine beatle, Colorado
Stohlquist Drifter or NRS big water guide- I have both and they've been excellent.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Mountain Buzz mobile app

Osseous is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016   #3
boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
First off, congratulations. Quite a big accomplishment. As for PFD recommendations, the one that fits is really what your looking for. I have had many over the years and currently use the maximus. I like it, although I am not thrilled with it. I don't love having to pull it over my head. I think I prefer the zip up. It is a decent slightly higher float option if you don't mind that.
May the wind be always at your back,
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
shoenfeld13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016   #4