Old 01-07-2015   #1
Newman Lake, Washington
Paddling Since: 2010
Oar length questions for bad shoulders.

I've been paddling sea kayaks, hardshell ww kayaks and IKs for several years and I'm buying my first raft this winter. I'll be doing day and multi-day floats in the NW as well as some in CO when I visit family. I've got some questions on sizing oars.

I'm planning on getting a 14 footer with an NRS Bighorn frame. I'm leaning towards Cataract SGGs with Sawyer laminated fir blades. I've used SGGs on a cataraft that I use several times a year and like them. I am planning on using open locks and like the idea of the thinner Sawyer blades for easier feathering.

I'm 185 lbs and have had both shoulders surgically repaired as well as having three neck vertebrae fused. I also like the idea the longer, skinnier Sawyer blade to keep me out of my ortho surgeons office.

I was thinking of getting some 9.5' oars, but with the longer Sawyer blades and my injuries, would a 9.0' or even an 8.5' be better?

I can't be the only 50 something with several surgeries, so what works for you?

Thanks for any advice and suggestions!

athelake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015   #2
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1987

Aire 143D 9ft. oars Aire 156D 9.5ft. oars I like a tall back tractor seat to rest the old back.

Any Day on the River is Better Than----
superpuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015   #3
Jenks, Oklahoma

I am in a similar situation physically as you describe except older, with 4 fused (number 7,8,9,10) and more metal elsewhere including the shoulder issues with added pelvic issues.

I had been rowing a 18 ft Aire Catboat and 14 ft Aire self bailer. Hard shelled kayaks for many decades.

For what it is worth, I think it is mostly important on how you use your rig after you find out the rig that works for you. Just be aware what worked before will probably have to be looked at a bit differently.