Mountain Buzz banner

Motor questions

7K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  scottcsu 
#1 ·
I have very little experience with motors and after searching existing threads I still have some questions on what size of motor will push how many rafts. I am trying to plan for an upcoming trip that has lots of flat water.

Obviously the boat size and amount of gear/people loaded into it will affect how effective the motor is. For the sake of this question lets say the main goal is to get multiple boats through flat water.

From what I can gather the 15hp motors are typical for 18 foot boats on the grand, how many other boats could this one motor push and still be worth the gas its burning and not crush the motor? From here you step down in both horsepower of motor and size of raft but what are typical motor sizes for a 16 foot or 14 foot boat and how many other rafts can these push?

Another side thought is what formation is the most effective? Long, snake style seems like a good idea but may not work well in reality. it seems like a diamond shape may be best for moving multiple boats with one motor.

thanks for your input buzzards, your always there for me when I need you.

See less See more
#2 ·
Thanks for posting this. I was just on a Westwater trip that had a boat with motor. We lashed 5 rafts together and kept moving at 4 - 5 mph against the wind and the motor was very quiet (not opened full bore?). I was told it was a two-cycle- doesn't put oil in the river- and it said 5 hp. on it. I looked up similar models and nothing claimed to be able to achieve the same results.

#4 ·