Mountain Buzz banner

Mini max or puma

15K views 22 replies 14 participants last post by  Sherpa9543 
#1 ·
Looking at buying a small boat for next season to r2 and at times put a small frame on and do a little fishing. I have a few Aire boats and know the quality and durability but don't know much about the hysides. Anyways any input from folks that own these boats would be greatly appreciated.

#4 ·
Both GREAT boats. No worries with either option. In MT you don't have too much silt so the bladder is not an issue. If you are going to roll all the time the hyside has an advantage. The Aire has the ease of repair, but neither should need it. Buy with confidence they are great boats and you will enjoy either.

#5 ·
I'm no expert but both companies have a great rep around here. My beautiful lady friend bought a Minimax last year and I love it. We R2 it and basically are able to run complex kayak lines on lower water Ark and paddle it at higher flows when I wouldn't be comfortable in my kayak. She has a frame for it too and it is wonderfully nimble. Like any boat, it has its sweet spots and things that it is not as good at. We use it to do multidays with her rowing and a couple of us in kayaks and its great but it would be a wild ride on big water like the Grand. Again, I'm no expert and have limited experience with catarafts but I prefer the raft. I like how I can smear a rock with the bow and not end up straddled. YMMV.

#17 ·
We are launching a new Spider design this year too! A little wider to accommodate a larger cooler for extended trips and still a mean R'2'n machine. Our Fall Sale is happening now :) For both the Spider and the AIRE Puma if that is what you are looking for. Let us know if we can help! Keep it Right Side Up, Renee

#8 ·