Old 11-23-2015   #1
Eastern Slope, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980
Knives, knives, knives

I've been considering changing the way I carry my knife for a couple years now. Baer's article
(Where Is Baer ?: Time for a new Personal Flotation Device?!) has almost convinced me that I just don't need a knife on the outside of my PFD, inside a pocket and quickly accessible are good enough for something I've never needed in a hurry - and could still get to in a hurry by simply opening a zipper.

Am I crazy? I've worn a bear claw on my chest for more than a decade and I am so sick of it popping out, snagging on things, and in general being contradictory to my "slick and simple" philosophy.

Even if I do keep the claw on the outside I'm trying to decide which folding knife to get for inside the Green Jacket (for those of you that followed Better Rescue PFD for Rafting, I've decided I'll probably sacrifice the extra flotation I was seeking for the over-the-head Green Jacket again. The 2016 prototype looks sweet:

I'm a gear geek and am not satisfied with the cheap knives NRS sells. I work as a river guide and have to untie enough knots that I want a locking Marlin Spike on it. I don't sharpen my knife, well, ever, so a serrated blade is probably a good choice.

Anyone have any ideas?

A few I'm considering:
TF300P: Gen 2, Titanium Captain Pro
Folding Boat Knives | Rigging & Safety Knife | Utility Blade
:: Spyderco ::

Randaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015   #2
no tengo
Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876
for the best knives (and expensive) out there you should look at benchmade. something like this one might fit your criteria. Triage

mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015   #3
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Can't speak to the quality, but this kind of design might fit the bill:

Gill Marine Tool Folding Knife | APS | Free Shipping