Is it really this expensive?? - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-31-2017   #1

San Luis Valley, Colorado
Is it really this expensive??

Hello,

I'm a total newbie - I've had a canoe for years, but new to rafts.. Last summer we took over our old family cabin in the Southern San Juans. It's about 100 yards up from the local river that local guide trips float multiple times/day - both group trips and fishing trips. Mostly Class 1 and 2 water.

I found out that said local company sells of rafts at the end of each season. I'm currently first on the list for a 13 ft Rocky Mountain Raft at the end of the season. I have 2 young sons (4 & 6) and my hope is that we could do these floats frequently when we are up at the cabin (only 2-3 hours). Maybe down the line, as the boys grow use it for some fishing as well.

Realistically couldn't do any floats until next season when they are 5 and 7 just because of the timing of the second hand purchase.

However, I'm looking into it and it's so expensive! In addition to the raft, I need a frame, oars, oar rights, a seat, etc, etc.

I hadn't expected thousands in addition to the raft. Please skip all of the "welcome to our world" posts and let me know if there is some discount options I'm not seeing? Or does everybody that rafts just drop at least $4K to get started?

TheThom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-31-2017   #2

Bend, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1975
Watch craigslist for used equipment. I just put together a 14 ft. non self bailing rig for $750. Raft, Frame, & Oars. All the stuff is at least 20 years old but should last another 10 easy.
Aerocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017   #3
fat guy in a little boat

FtC / Rancho del Rio, Colorado
Paddling Since: 8AM
if your only planning on doing easy water, you can make your own wood frame.
that alone will save ya $1000

All I need are some tasty waves, a cool buzz, and I'm fine.
- Spicoli
bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links