Old 09-11-2013   #1
Castle Rock, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
First Raft - what size?

I have been renting rafts for a few years on various trips (Lodore, Ruby Horsethief) and own 3 duckies. I have finally gotten my wife to sign-off on buying a raft so long as I don't spend "too much". Any overnight trips would typically be no more than 2 nights but most of the time, would probably just take the boat down the Ark on day trips. Trips would typically be 2 adults, 2 kids, and possible our dog.

A friend is moving away from CO and looking to dispose of his 14' Hyside Outfitter (about 2 or 3 years old) for a really great deal. From other posts, it looks like most people are saying 16' for any overnight trips (even short ones). However, I'd like to be able to use the raft on Ark day trips and the flows the last couple of years have been such that when I've been in my IK, I've often thought "sure glad I'm not trying to guide some 16' raft through here".

Am I fooling myself to think a 14' is remotely appropriate for periodic overnights? I'd love to get both 14 and 16, but no way the wife will go that.

denali1322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013   #2
14'er would be perfect. Hell I've got a 13'er and I think that is perfect too, even for week long over night trips.

jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013   #3
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
If you'll have one boat in Colorado, I recommend a 14'. Small enough for headwaters rivers (Ark, Eagle, etc.), big enough for the Grand.

Nothing in the world is more yielding and gentle than water. Yet it has no equal for conquering the resistant and tough. The flexible can overcome the unbending; the soft can overcome the hard. - Lao Tse
Andy H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013   #4
The Old Troll
Gypsum, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000