Old 01-27-2015   #1
Grand Junction, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
First raft help!

After perusing these forums for awhile I have decided to join and ask the experts to help me find my first raft. To start the sizes I'm looking at are 11-13 foot range. I am looking for something that will be mostly paddled in Western CO/UT, but will also row it in the desert. I plan on mostly doing day trips, but want to be able to do 1 or 2 nighters. I'm ok with going in backpacking style for the time being. This is not the boat of my dreams I will have in ~10 years just something to hold me over until then. I'm very ok with going used (and probably have to) but don't want to end up throwing 2K down the toilet.

I am a poor raft guide/ski instructor so price is THE major factor. I don't have a truck or a trailer and can't afford one anytime soon, just a 99 subaru outback. If I can't strap the boat on top of the car I will have to roll it. I have room in my house/garage to store it indoors and inflated. I have been thoroughly checking Craigslist, KSL, and here to try and find a good used boat with no luck so far. Am I correct to assume early spring more quality used boats will be available?

All these factors point me towards an AIRE Super Puma or a Hyside Outfitter 12. But I haven't seen much used and the retail is a bit steep unless I qualify for pro deal (my boss only has an NRS catalog with NRS/Tributary). RMR looks pretty intriguing as I could afford one new, but I am open to almost any suggestions!

Thanks in advance,

cschmidt1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015   #2
Durango, Colorado
Tributary 12 or 13. They just dropped their pricing for 2015 to compete with RMR, but you get AIRE quality and customer service. Plus it sounds like you may get a deal on them already thru NRS.

storm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015   #3
Tigard, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1995