Old 02-18-2014   #1
cat advice

I am a kayker looking t get into a Cat. I have limited rowing experience and I am draw to cats. I have been doing research on tubes. I have found some good deals on Sotar tubes. I was looking for some advice on these tubes. Thanks

joe hemelt
JJ1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014   #2
DURANGO, 81301
Paddling Since: 2005
What advice are you looking for? Sotar cats are great, can't go wrong. 12-13 footers are good for day trips, bigger for longer trips with more gear.

Gumbydamnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014   #3
Lincoln City, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1990
I started with the Aire Ocelot, owned it for ten years great all around boat, hauled gear, passengers etc. Insert a Maravia 12'/20", wow quick machine for day trips. Went to a Sotar 13'6"/23" Legend for two up day trips and solo overnights this beast ate big water. Currently on a 13' / 22.5" Sotar Legend, nice blend of speed/ quickness/maneuverability in steep water and carry capacity for solo Class 4+ overnight trips.

Recently been playing on the Aire Wave Destroyer 12', real fun, quick day boat !!!
mrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014   #4
boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2000
I like the fat tubes on the Maravia work cats
ahogenauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014   #5
at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020
Please tell us more about your target use. Something sporty, as a kayak "retirement boat", or fun for summer bloat and floats? Gear boat? Week long multiday boat? What is your price point?
I am a river, babe - I've got plenty of time, I don't know where I'm going, I'm just following the lines..... - "We are water" by Shaye
lhowemt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014   #6
Bazzaro, World
Paddling Since: 2020