Old 12-25-2014   #1
Yukon, Alabama
6 hp Tohatsu Outboard for Long Silty Trip

Planning on using a 6 hp Tohatsu 4 stroke on an 18 foot Sotar raft on a VERY long Yukon River trip. New outboard broken in last summer and running great. Got the factory repair manual and am putting together a maintenance parts list to include spare water pump. I have little experience with a small outboards on the silty Yukon and am trying to decide if having adequate spare parts will suffice - or do I need to actually take a spare motor (or have one ready to ship to a village along the way as a replacement). I just have no idea how reliable a water cooled 4 stroke will be in this kind of silty water. I do plan on changing oil and drive shaft fluids during the trip and will have provisions for flushing the water pump system. The raft is outfitted with an excellent rowing set-up, but I believe the motor will be "required" to combat the constant up-river winds for the long trip so I consider the motor very important to complete the trip. Any advise/suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks.

Yukon77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014   #2
Newberg, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1981
I have used my 6hp Nissan to push 5 rafts out of The Grand twice. I don't think you will have any problem. How many hrs of running will the motor get? 50 hrs is ok for the oil. Even at 5mph that's a lot of river miles. Unless you use it for a rototiller the silt won't be a problem. The 3gal tank had over a gallon left after 60 miles if that helps.

jpbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014   #3
Westfield, Massachusetts
Paddling Since: 1999
The silty water won't be a big problem. The extra impeller/water pump is a great idea though..your oil should be good for the entire trip, change it after when you clean/flush the motor.