Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting > Rafting | Trip Planner

Old 08-16-2014   #1
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
Is Desolation/Grey floatable in a Raft in mid September?

It looks like I'll be heading out to Deso/Grey in mid September with a friend. I have very little river experience and haven't ever kayaked (I've done a few canoe trips and some shorter rafting trips). The plan is to float on two inflatable kayaks. I'm wondering if it would be more advisable to float a raft instead. Would this be doable? Does the inflatable kayak idea sound plausible considering my lack of experience?

RyanHostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014   #2
Sturgis, South Dakota
Paddling Since: 2003
You'll be fine...

Rafted Deso in early August. Great trip. One of the nice things about Deso is that the rapids start out small and then get bigger, so you get some practice before you hit anything big. Scout Steer Rigge, Joe Hutch, Wire Fence Three Fords and Coal Creek. If you can carry enough gear, take the kayaks. But a raft would be fine too.

johnseri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014   #3
Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 2010
Me and a buddy self supported in two tandum IK's last august. The flow was in the neighborhood of 1200 CDs. We had no problems. We have both floated Deso before so take that for what you willI would think that if you are familiar with recognizing the obstacles which are primarily rocks and avoiding and want to stop and scout the bigger rapids

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz
...if, you know, you're not into the whole brevity thing.
el-duderino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014   #4
cedar city, Utah
How fast of a physical/kinesthetic learner are you? Paddling a loaded IK for 5-7 days can be tiring if you don't learn to paddle efficiently. Look to your buddy for pointers and advice.