Old 06-21-2014   #1
Breckenridge, Colorado
First Voyage Today

Happy Summer....

We took our new boat on it's maiden voyage today. My wife, brother and our five year old son took our new 12' RMR down the Arkansas 'Milk Run' this afternoon. I've had the boat since early April, but since I'm a new boater with a young child I've been waiting for flows to drop back down. I'll probably be bummed some day that I missed the big flows this year has provided, but as a novice I know better than trying to get into the water when it's been running as fast as it has been for the past 4 weeks or so.

We decided to head out today after talking with friends and the AHRA Rangers. The Milk Run is close enough to home, and offered a safer run for my first trip in almost twenty years at the helm. Our son was a trooper. It was a blast. I was nervous having the little guy on board, but this stretch is safe enough and we had a designated swimmer (if necessary) to save the little man.

The seasoned buzzards might mock, or consider us the "gapers" of the water, but it was a great feeling getting out and enjoying part of what makes Colorado so amazing. I have felt this type of excitement a few times (learning to snowboard years ago, and then again while learning to tele). There's something about being new at something that makes it super fun. Kinda like being a great downhill skier or boarder and taking up tele. Worrying about the little things that the experts take for granted. Having that nervous excitement all over again.

We have been on the river many times over the years, but I have only had a little time behind friends oars or as a paddler on friends boats. The last training I had was during a short stint spent on New & Gauley back in the summer of 95'.