Old 02-16-2015   #1
gws, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Deso/Gray through Cataract

Hey all, my buddy has cancelled. I have a permit to put in at Sand Wash on 4-14 and be at Mineral Bottoms by the 27th. My permit is for 2 rafts and 2 people. Shuttling is being worked out between Vernal and Moab. Problem is everyone I know is saying don't go through cataract alone, being I have never done this stretch before. Thought about hanging around upriver for someone to show and shoot together ( the drops ). Anyone have interest or thoughts? For some reason I have been unable to respond to private messages so, just call me. Thanks, Don at 970-989-0152 in Glenwood.

jollyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015   #2
Grand Junction, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
There are commercial outfits running the rapids every day in Cat. Big Drop 1 is class III with some big waves, no big deal to run this one solo.

Big Drop 2 you can scout easily and it is pretty obvious, but this could be a good spot to wait for someone to run with. A lot of commercial outfits still scout 2 & 3 every time. There are some almost guaranteed to flip features in it depending on volume of course. If you end up having to go solo make sure you get up high enough to spot "The Claw" aka Big Drop 2.5.

Big Drop 3 shouldn't give you any trouble unless it is exceptionally high or low for that time of year. High you would have to stay right, low it is pretty bony.

With all that said the other rapids in Cat that don't even have names are going to be as big or bigger than Joe Hutch, Coal Creek, Three fords on Deso. Cat may be considered mostly Class III but rest assured A LOT of the rapids are III+ IV-.

cschmidt1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015   #3
cedar city, Utah