Old 01-27-2016   #1
Port Angeles, Washington
Paddling Since: 2016
What size cataraft do I need?

Hey everyone! I am new to catarafts, and actually new to drifting in general and I have quite a few questions that I would greatly appreciate if I could get some knowledgeable answers too. To start off with I am a fly fisherman, so most of my fishing will be landing the boat and wading in the water to fish a run, but there would be some nymph fishing on the boat in between good swinging water. I would love to have the boat be light enough so that 2 people can easily pull, lift or drag it out to the water with out the need of a boat ramp, I wanna be able to fish where drift boats cant. I will most of the time be either fishing by my self or with one other person with the occasional few times of having me and 2 other people fish. Maybe rarely do just a peaceful float with out fishing with 4 people and next to no gear. Im a welding fabricator and Id love to build my own setup exactly to how I like/want it but I have no idea where to start. Would a 14' cataraft do all that I am wanting to do? Could anyone give me dimensions to building a frame? Would a 14' cataraft be easy to maneuver all by myself? Would it have the capacity to hold just 4 people with out gear? Is it light enough to pick up with 2 people or even use one of those wheels by myself? Is a 16' cat light enough for 2 people to pick up? Can one person fish a 16' cat? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!!! If you got and frame recommendations or anything at all. Thanks

Felton45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016   #2
Louisville, Colorado
The cat is light, but the frame is heavy. Sounds to me like you might want a 14' hyplon raft. 4 peeps on 14' cat is a lot.

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

catwoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016   #3
Port Angeles, Washington