Old 05-21-2007   #1
Eagle, Idaho
Paddling Since: '78
Upper Animas Rafting/overnight

I'd like to do an over-night this coming weekend on the upper A. Can ya'll give me some beta??? I know what I know from the CRC, never been down it. I have a couple options, self-supported kayak or small rig (12' cat). My buddies would prefer that I bring the 12' rig (lil' extra gear, more beer, lighter kayaks, etc...) What's the take-out like with the train situation?? I'll have a frame to load, coolers, etc...????? Is there another option, can I run the box (not the death part, obviously)?????

Difficulty, I'd appreciate some feedback on the rapids. I know there are atleast three that'll be pretty beefy for a 12' cat. I think I have the skillz, I've been rowing for 16+ yrs, guided commercially on the Poudre and Ark. for 5.

Any info is greatly appreciated. I thought I'd hit up the buzz before I called Four Corners or Canyon.

GoodTimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007   #2
no tengo
Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876
well i pm'd ya some details. the rockwood would be fairly pushy and stout at these levels but i have rowed it this high. things were fine but cant say i would recommend it since it is so committing in a raft. then there is the carry at the end.

i would also recommend at least one of your group has run it before. the scouts are super hard to describe and its not like you can just casually eddy out anywhere you want.

if you are going to run rockwood then by all means walk down from your car to the river so you know exactly where to get out.

mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007   #3
3 of us did an overnight on the upper-A 2 summers ago. We did a self support kayak run and it was great. We ran into a commercial raft group that invited us for leftover dinner and extra beer it was awesome. But you can always bring extra beer in on the train, an easy option.