Old 05-04-2013   #1
Cairns, Queensland
Tully river rafting (Australia)

I'm European and I'm traveling all across the world.
In my first 8 months in Australia I spent so much money that I was planning on going home soon. But for the last 5 months I was consistently employed and got paid decently. I made more than what I lost in 8 months

I decided to take a holiday on the Australian east coast and get into rafting.
The extreme rafting on the Tully river looks amazing and therefore I came over.
Now, a full day of rafting there costs $200. Pictures of that day cost $110 and camera rental is $50 per day. So you're looking at $360 in one day which I find pretty ridiculous.

I am a complete rafting noob. Am I better off rafting somewhere else (I'm doing Asia and New Zealand as well and life is generally cheaper there) or is it going to fall in that price range anywhere in the world?

traveler86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013   #2
Ft Collins, Colorado

Well, the Tully rafting - and kayaking!! - is very, very, good. But on the other hand, the Kiwis are pretty insane. Having been both places I'm pretty confident there is no good answer to your question. The companies on the Tully are very professional. They pay for water releases so you're guaranteed a good level, they have buses, water contracts, video boater, etc all in places. It is generally a very smooth and well oiled process, and the run has some very spectacular rapids. You _will_ be entertained.

Similarly, in NZ there are a bunch of great rivers, with incredible scenery. And they apparently don't have the law suits we suffer from in the US, so when they say the river is class V, you should be scared.

If you're in Oz, and you can do the upper Tully, go for it. If you're really turned on by whitewater, you'll do more when you get to NZ, and if you're infected, you'll do even more when you get home. Lots of great rivers in Europe, but the weather is a lot less accommodating.