Old 02-23-2014   #1
Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 93
Time to upgrade!

Hey Buzzards! I've been running an older 13'9" Hyside for a few years and while I love it, and still plan on keeping it for fishing and the occasional paddle raft, I've outgrown it... With two kids that are growing every time I feed them, the Hyside has reached the max for trips longer than a few days.
My wonderful wife finally agreed that we should grab a bigger boat, so now I'm on the hunt for the perfect ride.
I'm looking for a 16ft that will be used mainly as an oar boat, trailered but rolled in the winter. Haven't done the Grand yet, but it's on the horizon.
I'm stuck between the NRS160 and Aire156R.
I'm sure I can't go wrong with either of the above. I'm kinda leaning toward the Aire just due to price, but I've never rowed one.
Anybody want to talk about durability, handling, materials, etc? Why the significant price difference between the two?
Help me with the decision!

MDC902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014   #2
Boy Howdy!
Colotucky, USA
Paddling Since: 2006
156R i love it....

Who's your monkey?
pinemnky13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014   #3
Newberg, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1981
Originally Posted by pinemnky13 View Post
156R i love it....
times 2
jpbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014   #4
Lake City, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1990
156R or D. I have never rowed the R but the D works perfect on long trips with the wife and kids and still handles great when loaded heavy.
doughboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014   #5
East of the Pine beatle, Colorado