Old 04-02-2014   #1
denver, Colorado
Rowing Bay Size

I know this is all personal preference, but I was hoping you all could give me some general ideas as I am new to this boat owning thing.

Try to make this quick, purchased a used 13'9" Hyside with 4 bay DRE fishing frame. Didn't come with a cooler and the rowing bay felt too large for me. I have a 17" bay under my captains chair, which is set and not changing.

I am 5'11" and am the primary rower. My wife is 5'6" and will do some rowing in mostly calm water. Fishing partners range is height with my main friend that will row half the time he is with me, which is 80% of the time, is 6'3". I like where the oars are, and made the bay smaller this weekend. It is currently at 20.5." Is this still too big?

I don't want to be overly aggressive and make it too small and uncomfortable for the taller rowers, but I do want it to fit me right. I purchased a canyon 90qt that goes in the bay in front of the oarsman and it is 19" wide. I have it NRS adjustable cooler mounts. The cooler bay is too big and I want to move the bar in front of it back to make a tighter fit so it doesn't twist.

I am re-doing the deck in the first bay in the next couple weeks, and need to get everything set before it is milled. My current deck is too small if I move the bar back, and the swivel seat is too far back on it and hits the cooler. It just plain needs re-done, so I am doing it.

Any help on sizing of the rowing bay would be much appreciated, since as you can see from my situation, it will decide the size of the front bay and the deck, where I have drop bags. My only storage when float fishing and not using the tail for gear is under the oarsman's seat and the front deck, so balancing storage space and comfort for the rower is very important.

Thank you for help!

gretch6364 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014   #2
Grand Junction, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978