Old 07-10-2010   #1
San Antonio, Texas
Paddling Since: 1973
Rafting/rowing instruction near Salida

Although I have paddled canoes and kayaks for many years, I am new to rafts and catarafts. I'll be in the Salida area for about ten days in early August, and would like to receive instructions on rowing a 14' cataraft and paddling a 14' raft, both recently acquired. Trying to get ready for a trip on the Rio Chama later in the month. Anyone up for teaching a newbie? Any suggestions for professional instruction in that area? Thanks.

HJAIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010   #2
Nederland, Co. nearest town., Either grace or kerfuffled
Paddling Since: 1985
Saw your post about raft instruction. I might be able to help you out, but I'm tied up until August 10th. I ran boats professionally for 20 years, all kinds of water levels & crafts. If the timing is wrong, there are about 60 raft companies in the area. They do their official training/whitewater schools in the Spring, but there's plenty of "old" (experienced ) boatmen in the area, that would probably be happy to teach you for the right price. Do you have whitewater kayak experience, or is your kayak experience flat/ocean? Because if you already know how to "read water," you're 90% there. Why don't you give me a call in the next few days, so I can find out what your exact needs are; then if I am not available during the time you need, I may be able to hook you up with someone who can help you out. I know a few excellent boatmen in Salida.
Karen 303 642-0823

Jungle Jane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010   #3
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 93
I can help you out if Karen can't do to time constraints and I am local to the area. I only have 17 years experience and I guide locally. The earlier the better in August as they are probably going to turn off the Ark around that time. I will IM you my contact info.
Snowhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010   #4
San Antonio, Texas