Old 05-09-2014   #1
Laramie, Wyoming
Raft Performance

I’ve been rafting now for a few years and have about 10 years of ww kayak experience - I want to purchase my first “real” raft and because the Saturn I borrow is no longer available. I’m looking at 14 foot rafts and I’m going to be using a rowing frame and rafting Colorado and Wyoming rivers (class II – IV). I would like to leave cat's out of the discussion because I want a raft. I’ve probably read all of the posts about “what raft should I buy” and found great information but I wanted to ask for specific information about raft performance. I don’t want to know about raft longevity/quality or cost but pure speed and maneuverability. Here are a couple of things I found I would like opinions on: “Avon and Vanguard have high floors and are very slow”. “Aire D and R series maneuver well but hold water in the floor”. “RMR have blocky corners and are a bit slow”. I would love to here from all of the oarsmen who have rowed many rafts and know about performance in all types of technical water. I’ve looked at: Aire, RMR, NRS, Hyside, Sotar, Maravia…… Hope to get good info to help with my purchase. Thanks,

EH_82070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014   #2
Sandy, Utah
Paddling Since: 1997
I'm a long time catarafter who just made the switch to a raft. I got a Sotar 14SL. Diminishing tubes. Supposed to be very maneuverable. I'll be running it for the first time over Memorial weekend. Just a class I-II float, but it should give me an idea on handling as compared to my cats. I'll give some feedback after the trip. I rowed a 12 ft. Hyside last year. Lots of fun, but a small boat, so hard to compare to a 14 footer.

"We are all visitors to this time, this place. We are just passing through. Our purpose here is to observe, to learn, to grow, to love....and then we return home."
Australian Aboriginal Proverb
cataraftgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014   #3
Louisville, Colorado