Old 09-15-2015   #1
Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2015
Pins and clips vs oar locks and oar rights

So I'm sure this is a much debated topic but thought I'd ask because I'm new to the sport. Why one oar system over the other? I bought what I feel is a really nice set up. Tons of people have been die hard 50/50 giving me their opinion on why the set up with pins over oar locks and vise versa. I would love to hear some real facts. Thanks for any input.

Sbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015   #2
Caw! Caw!
Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1989
Pins and clips
Prevent your oars from ever rotating, which ensures perpendicular blade pitch every stroke. Less thinking, more rowing. With stirrups, your oars stay put pretty well in a flip, mostly. Stout. If you hit a rock with an oar blade, the clips can pop off the pins, which can be a pain to deal with.

Open oarlocks with oar-rights
Allow you to ship your oars. When oars are shipped a little bit, you can rotate them, and feather kinda somewhat. When fully extended, you still maintain your blades perpendicular to the water. If you hit a rock with an oarblade, the oar will spin, but the oar-right won't, so it's easier to chip/break a blade, or it can misalign the oar-right by twisting it on the shaft. Which is far more of a pain to deal with than a clip that's popped off.

Open oarlocks, no oar-rights
Allow you to ship and feather your oars, actions which can be interpreted either as achieving a sublime state of efficiency and grace, or, more likely, showing off. If you hit a rock with an oar blade, the oar spins in the oarlock, helping to prevent breakage (sometimes). Not always the best choice for your dental work.

I used open locks and oar-rights for a long time, but eventually ditched the oar-rights, and I don't miss them at all. I find my rowing is easier and more efficient without them. Do whatever feels right to you, though.

AlanS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015   #3
Pinecliffe, Colorado