Old 01-16-2014   #1
McHenry, Maryland
Paddling Since: 2013
Newbie Guide Looking For Advice

Hey Guys,

I got the bug. After recently learning the very basics of whitewater canoeing, I want to become a whitewater raft guide. I rafted way back in the boy scouts about 10 years ago a couple times, and loved it, and can't wait for Spring. I'm looking for advice.

First off, I have limited experience in whitewater. I was a flatwater kayak guide last summer, but I'm wondering if taking a class in whitewater rafting is worth it. I'd want to take the class before the training started for whatever company I'm going to be working for started. I've looked at two so far,

- Raft Guide School | U.S. National Whitewater Center

That one costs $175 and I think most of the class is on an artificial course.

- Whitewater Raft Guide Training School

This one costs $450.

Any thoughts?

Secondly, I'm curious where I should guide. Obviously as a first year guide I'm not exactly being fought over by the rafting companies, but my first couple choices include Wilderness Voyageurs in Ohiopyle on the Yough, Rolling Thunder on the Nantahala/Ocoee/Toccoa or RiverRiders/Harpers Ferry Adventure Center in Harpers Ferry on the Potomac or Shenandoah (not sure which one they raft).

I'd like to stay on the East Coast during my first year as a guide, and would like the season to be as long as possible. I'd also like to minimize housing expenses and most of these companies offer housing of some sort, whether it be camping/etc.

Anyway, I know I said alot. Any advice about anything I mentioned, or anything anyone wants to bring up is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

- Swell6

swell6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014   #2
Plunk your magic twanger!
New Castle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Further research should reveal that you want to spend lots of time on the river but you DON'T want to be a raft guide. It's a common dilemma.

Gremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014   #3