Moral Dilema San Juan or Taos box - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-06-2016   #1

Apache Junction, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2008
Moral Dilema San Juan or Taos box

I am planning trips for next year and need to make a decision. I have never done the San Juan before and I was invited to go on a trip with a group that is going to do it in May. I have an 9 year old daughter that wants to really go on a rafting trip and I have heard this would probably be pretty appropriate trip to bring a younger kid on.

I also have a buddy that we put in together and bought a raft to do trips. He would like to really go back to New Mexico and do the Taos box/Race course trip again. This would obviously be a little bit more fun and exciting whitewater. However to do the Taos box you really need to go around April/May as well to catch decent flows. I want to do both but will not be able to. The father side of me says take my daughter on the San Juan and the Whitewater side of me says go to New Mexico.
Both will be fun but figured I would get some input from the buzz.

Jdsampsonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-06-2016   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
If you have never been, then I would do the San Juan. It's a lazy desert river with some of the most impressive Native American ruins and art in the 4 Corners area.

Totally different type of trip than the lower Taos Box.
Old 09-06-2016   #3

Jenks, Oklahoma
Take your daughter on the San Juan. Top section is ok, bottom section is awesome hikes and scenics. Do the entire float if you can. Stop at the middle take out tho and take daughter and other kiddos on the trip up for ice cream, that is a real treat.

Daughters grow up fast. Do not put time together off!!

Taos is easy to hit and you got the rest of your paddling career to do that run as much as you desire.
okieboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016   #4

Apache Junction, Arizona