Mountain Buzz banner

Moral Dilema San Juan or Taos box

5K views 25 replies 15 participants last post by  Flagstaff 
#1 ·
I am planning trips for next year and need to make a decision. I have never done the San Juan before and I was invited to go on a trip with a group that is going to do it in May. I have an 9 year old daughter that wants to really go on a rafting trip and I have heard this would probably be pretty appropriate trip to bring a younger kid on.

I also have a buddy that we put in together and bought a raft to do trips. He would like to really go back to New Mexico and do the Taos box/Race course trip again. This would obviously be a little bit more fun and exciting whitewater. However to do the Taos box you really need to go around April/May as well to catch decent flows. I want to do both but will not be able to. The father side of me says take my daughter on the San Juan and the Whitewater side of me says go to New Mexico.
Both will be fun but figured I would get some input from the buzz.

#3 ·
Take your daughter on the San Juan. Top section is ok, bottom section is awesome hikes and scenics. Do the entire float if you can. Stop at the middle take out tho and take daughter and other kiddos on the trip up for ice cream, that is a real treat.

Daughters grow up fast. Do not put time together off!!

Taos is easy to hit and you got the rest of your paddling career to do that run as much as you desire.

#5 ·
yup, take out river right just before the bridge at Mexican Hat. Best to leave a person at the rafts tho as there has been reports of minor theft. Hike up the trail maybe 10 to 15 minutes depending on your pace. There is a motel at the bridge with a little cafe and the trail will end at a little store with cold drinks and Ice Cream. Snack bar may or may not be open.