Mountain Buzz banner

Building a cat frame

4K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  aman 
#1 ·
Hey guys! I am fairly new to rafting and have recently purchased 14' rmr cat tubes. I plan on taking 2 or 3 multi night rafting trips this summer, but I need an optimal frame for this. I am a skilled welder and plan on building a frame. Preferably 3 bay frame so I can fit 2 dry boxes and a cooler. I am also going to put in a woven floor throughout. I was wondering if anybody has done this and if they have any tips for me. If you could provide pics of your set up that would be great too so I can get some ideas!
Thanks, Tyler

#2 ·
Hey T, welcome to the Buzz.
I have a 15' cat and I can tell you, that the way I have it set up now is nothing how I envisioned it when I bought it.
I understand the welding skilliz and the desire to put them to use and, someday I hope to have a nice welded frame but, learning what works for you is a lot easier with a basic erector-set frame. Sell it when you've got it figured out and are ready to weld.
IE. I envisioned passengers up front, gear in the the back. Hated it. can't see over/around them. For me, it's passengers on a cooler behind me, gear pile up front. Then there's Idaho style which I'm curious about, ect.
If I were to weld, I think I'd make a three mod design...
Best to design in options is all I'm saying.

#3 ·
Hey Tbieker,
Best of both worlds, if you're a skilled welder, buy some at least 1" EMT and go to town. A whole frame wont cost more than $100, and at that rate you can build 7-8 frames before you get buyers remorse. Heat up the galvanized with a torch, and weld with a box fan pointing the fumes away, but you already knew that. Frame design is part of the fun, so enjoy it!

#5 ·
Picnic table Table Automotive exterior Bumper Furniture

Iron Grass Lawn Metal Furniture

Vehicle Boat Water transportation Inflatable boat Inflatable

Vehicle Automotive exterior Auto part Chassis Steel