Old 03-06-2008   #1
Davis, California
accommodating a bad back in rafting

so my wife hurt her back this year and finds the typical foward/backward leaning motion painful. was wondering if anyone has any tips on modifying her paddle technique to alleviate some of the pain , it was a lower back injury. twisting normally doesn't hurt

Le Mitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008   #2
no tengo
Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876
Wow sorry to hear that. I'm not a doctor but play one on the buzz and any doc would say don't try to row with a bad back. Set up a lounge chair in the back for her and you do the rowing (on nice mellow rivers of course).

Now if she still insists on rowing - a high back seat would certainly help since you can push with just your arms (pulling would be problematic). hope this helps.

mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008   #3
Renaissance Redneck
Huson, Montana
Paddling Since: 1988
How about one of the back support straps like the old guys at home depot wear. I have a ruptured disk in my lower back and sometimes wear one pushed way down and snugged real tight. Its uncomfortable as hell but it helps
"You're gonna be doin a lot of doobie rolling when youre LIVIN IN A VAN DOWN BY THE RIVER"
LSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008   #4
Icebox, Colorado
Paddling Since: 98
bad back

I have three buldging discs, L3 to S1. I find sitting up super straight and rowing hand over hand works alot. When i consistently do rehab every night on and off the rivver that helps a ton as well. Hope this helps... Bad Backs Suck.
grandyoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008   #5
Westminster, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I actually did my master's thesis on back pain in raft guides. A couple things that I gleaned from that:
- Stay active. If she can row without pain - do it. Do lots of stretching & physical therapy.
- Don't overrely on supports - i.e. belts / braces / etc. Don't let the muscles weaken.