Old 12-20-2013   #1
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2011
8 Weeks off, what to do?

Hi all, I’m hoping to get a little advice on what to do with 8 weeks off. I get a “sabbatical” every 7 years, the only catch is that it has to be continuous, so I must choose a time of year and take it all at once. I may have to take it this year, although I’m hoping to push it to next year to increase my experience (I've only been whitewater addicted for 3 years now).

That said, what time of year would you take it, and where would you go?

I’m open to anywhere in the world and am comfortable in ~ class III+ for overnight trips, class IV for day trips. I’d love to row the GC, I’ve only been down on a bologna boat, and my experience is limited to paddling my ~12′ raft – I’ve no frame and have no experience with oars yet. Even if I did a 25 day GC trip, I’d still have half my sabbatical left!

Any suggestions will be appreciated!

Issip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013   #2
I want your job!

jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013   #3
Gardnerville, Nevada
Paddling Since: 00
If you have to take it this year you better hurry......
Seriously, I'm way jealous. Go have fun! Take that mini max and start in WY and push it down the Green to the Colorado.
Or........ I can see your dilemma...... to many possibilities...
more snow = more water
oarframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013   #4
Lakewood, Colorado
You could learn to kayak in 8 weeks.
lemsip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013   #5
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2011
I am planning to start pool lessons/sessions for kayaking, but I'll be bringing my wife along for most if not all of the fun - she freaks out when she's sees someone roll and insists she'll never kayak.

Although, if I get a frame for the raft and she learns to row she can be my support boat! Problem is I doubt she'd want to pilot in class III+ water .