Old 02-01-2015   #1
Breck, Colorado
Paddling Since: 13
Mellow fishing floats - Class II

Hey everyone, first let me say this site has easily been the most helpful source ive found on the internet machine for answering a lot of my questions. But I wanna get more specific now and speak directly to all the boaters and those who fish.

Last summer I purchased a Flycraft USA stealth boat to get me into float fishing. Im a novice on the sticks but have worked for a rafting company as a shuttle driver (I like to fish) and floated with others many times. I think its a totally rad, well built, little boat, and it fits my storage capabilities/towing capabilities. But it is little. And the rivers in Colorado are pretty big compared to what Ive floated in Wyoming, Idaho, Utah.

With the Flycraft USA Stealth boat in mind, which is rated at class II, what floats would you guys recommend?

I have already done State Bridge to Two Bridges on the Colorado River and would like to know more floats that are similar.

Some floats im pretty set on are:
1)Big bend to Salida/Salida E (Ark)
2)Johnson Village to Ruby Mountain (Ark)

When I get more experience and have an even more experienced boater with me I want to float the Blue River below Green Mtn Res. The niche of the Flycraft is that it handles skinny water well having a very low draft. So Id love to think I could take this boat below Green Mtn. when others can't....?

Any advice is so appreciated. I assure you guys that safety is always #1 concern and I am familiar with river safety.

Thanks !

ChiefNoSheets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015   #2
Fort Collins, Colorado
I'm sure you already considered this one but, the Green River from Flaming Gorge to Lodore.

mervo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015   #3
Breck, Colorado
Mervo thanks a lot for the suggestion. I actually floated A&B last year with some homies from Jackson Hole. Didnt row but I plan to this year now that I have a boat. Freakin love that river