Old 06-13-2016   #1
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
mean people suck in Ruby Horsethief

I've been boating Ruby Horsethief for over 20 years and always had positive experiences with other boaters there - until last weekend. I met Jason, his wife and two male friends at the Loma put in and they seemed nice. We had a permit to camp at black rocks, and so did they, at the site just upstream from ours. When we got to our designated campsite, they were set up there because they had missed theirs just upstream from ours. The rules on the permit state that if you miss your black rocks designated camp site, you must camp further down river at May Flats. They seemed to think it was OK for them to take our site due to their mistake. I told them that wasn't true and my party offered to get them to their site, either by lining their cataraft upstream or helping them carry their gear there. They decided to try lining the boat up. That ended up not working even with three of us helping, and they ended up even further down the river, to the next eddy. Then we offered to let them camp in the lower part of our site (where they thought we should have originally gone, and let them stay in the prime part of our site). I thought that was settled, and shortly after that there was a swimmer needing rescue, so myself and the other two men in my party went to help with that. When we returned from rescuing the swimmer, we discovered that Jason's group had left after giving the remaining female members of our group a hard time about their circumstances and again claiming that they had a right to be where we were. That was the last we saw of them (they didn't camp at black rocks, and apparently camped at the Westwater ramp that night). When we got to Westwater two days later, two of our tires were slashed. They knew our vehicle, since we had unloaded right next to them at the put-in. Seems very unlikely the tire slashing of one particular vehicle in the lot was coincidental. Look out fo