Killing the Colorado - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-28-2016   #1

Up shites creek, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Killing the Colorado

It's not a new topic. I just hope a broader audience will make a difference in water awareness. This special premiers Aug 4th on Discovery channel.

https://corporate.discovery.com/disc...-water-crisis/

**I claim no affiliation to the show.

Advertisement

Old 07-28-2016   #2

Westminster, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
I'll try to catch it.
Losthwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #3

Did anyone else watch this? Curious what others thought.
Advertisement

Old 08-05-2016   #4

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: Dawn
Also good reading - the series of articles that the doc was based on:

https://www.propublica.org/series/killing-the-colorado

Propublica is one of the few legit journalistic entities left in the US...
pepejohns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #5
Total Newb

Grants Pass, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesimapirate View Post
Did anyone else watch this? Curious what others thought.
I did, I enjoyed it. The big take away is don't store water in the desert!
ScottM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #6

Every aspect is important, but I felt like the only 2 storylines directly related to the CO river got a ton of air time. Crowley, CO selling their water rights was a good point, but not directly about the CO River. I think there are many storylines that didn't get air time.

But yea, desert storage is a dissipation mess. Let's take Trump's wall budget and build domes over Mead and Powell.
Old 08-18-2016   #7
Old Guy in a PFD

Tucson, Arizona
Paddling Since: 1967
Schutzie watched the show and was disappointed. The message (don't store water in the desert) didn't offer much in the way of real world solutions.

Ironically, Schutzie became intimately familiar with a Swedish solution to limited water resource and demands on hydro power;