Old 07-04-2012   #1
Farmington, Utah
Paddling Since: 2009
How to deal with tubers.

So I went on a local river, and considering it is the only thing going it was packed with drunk tubers. The group I put on near had three girls, and four guys. Here was their group, and craft.

One 300 lbs male pfd not buckled, and a 175 lbs male no pfd both on a full size air mattress.

One 175 lbs male no pfd, and one 125 lbs female on a two seater wal-mart chair raft.

Two 125 lbs female both with pfds, but on a full size air mattress.

One 175 lbs male river rat tube, with pfd.

Right off the bat they were falling into the river trying to stand up in swift current, and going into strainers.

I am a kayak instructor, swift water rescue trained, and a safety rep for an industrial company. Safety is in every thing I do so I decided to intervene.

I told them to avoid wood, don't stand up in the river, and at a bridge go right, and not left into a deadly sieve/strainer.

I was squirt boating so I took some extra time in eddylines, and tried to keep an eye on them. After one air mattress popped, and the two girls lost there air mattress they all swarmed the two seater chair raft. The 300 lbs male hiked out. I told them that that was not made for that many people, and it was not made for the river. By this point one of the males had consumed many beers, and decided to tell me to fuck off because I was scaring them. I told him that I had save two tubers from drowning last year, and a tuber drown two years ago. He kept interrupting me cussing me out, and I told him that I was talking, and he needed to shut up because others in his group wanted to know where to go. I guess his ego was bruised, and he got super aggressive. After him telling me I did not know what I was talking about I said if he thought it was safe to go left instead of right, and paddled away.