Old 09-20-2013   #1
ronan, Montana

I am very new to this sport- we enjoy raftng and floating the flathead river.
We also enjoy fly fishing the rivers. As far as i can tell fly fishing rafts are not self bailers and rafting rafts are self bailers (perhaps i am wrong but this is what it seems like to me when i look at brands) Anyway Is There a raft that is manuveralbe, has a long warranty, does day trips or overnight trips with a group of 4-6 or can take a 2 person elevated fly fishing frame with a rower? Which raft would be the best for this selection(or should i be considering something else)? We can store it inflated on a trailer or folded. We have looked at: Sotar, NRS, AIRE, Star wonderbug, etc.. at this point we cant make an informed decision that is why i am asking you all.
Thank You for your opinion in advance.

dsagmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013   #2
Longmont, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
I started out with a 13' DRE boat w/ a fishing frame. Works great for the day trips with 2 people + rower. Also paddles great too.

I did find for multiday trips it was a bit cramped for 2 + rower for solo boat trips...I ended up getting a 16' foot boat for the multi day trips.

If you only get one others have said, a 14' boat is great one-boat quiver

ManGearPig Lives!
LongmontRafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013   #3
Renaissance Redneck
Huson, Montana
Paddling Since: 1988
I have a NRS 15E with a Bighorn 2 frame. I keep it decked all the way around for day and multiday WW trips. For fishing or duck hunting I take off most of the decking and add a back fishing seat, anchor system and front thigh bar.
"You're gonna be doin a lot of doobie rolling when youre LIVIN IN A VAN DOWN BY THE RIVER"
LSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013   #4
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006