Old 06-26-2008   #1
the Springs, Colorado
Tips Anyone?

Im new to this sport. My first kayaking trip was very short. Just an easy float - couple of small swims. No problem enjoyed it. Then somehow I developed this disabling fear of the river. My next trip was terrifying and Ive walked away from several runs since then. Now I'm even
anxious in the pool. HOWEVER, I dont want to give up. I just need to learn to overcome this fear. Some tell me to just face it to force myself to go on runs even knowing Im going to swim a lot. Others tell me I need to step back into my comfort zone then progress at a slower pace to stay in that comfort zone.

Anyone have any first hand experience and tips?

1srh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008   #2
castle rock, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Well I would say just stay in the pool and work on your rolls. Close your eyes and have a friend flip you so you do not know when or what way you are rolling. Once you are under take a few seconds and just stay under befor you do anything. Then just roll back up. Each time work on staying upside down longer and longer. Then once the water goes down go to golden and play in the park there. do some rolls in the noise moving water and do the same thing work on getting use to being under water and stay there for longer times each time. Once you feel good move to a wave and play in it. once the wave kicks you out do a roll to show your self that you can do it and that you are in control. Then just roll in the wave. Well hope this helps, this way worked for me after i got my but kick the first time in a boat.

dograft83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008   #3
Professional Transient, See above.
My initial thoughts are to start over in a pool with an instructor. Paddle around in the pool with NO spray skirt. Once comfortable with that, perhaps go for the wet exit in the pool (still no spray skirt).