Old 06-26-2009   #1
McCall, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2004
Getting a boat

so I've got a Wavesport XXX that I bought off a friend, however I am new to whitewater and well the boat is a snug fit. I went for a float, took a swim and could barely pop myself out of the boat. But I am not a large person, about 5'2'' maybe 150 lbs, so I was wondering am I just new and nervous to moving water still or perhaps there is a better boat out there for me? And if so what is it!?

jen_smola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009   #2
bc, CA
Paddling Since: 2007
wet exiting

It probably is just because you were a bit nervous and your legs stiffened up. Practice makes perfect. Try flipping in a lake or slow moving water several times. If you can get into your can always get out. My playboat is only 5'9" long and I am 5'5" tall. I really have to squeeze to get in, but never have had a problem when I've needed to get out. It will become easier over time. Don't give up!!!

brenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009   #3
I'm on mountain time....
Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Send a message via MSN to gearjunkie1
The XXX is a little tighter in the leg room area than other boats. It is an older design that came about when the first play boats were coming out. It has pretty hard chines and low volume ends for learning, but you can progress into it.
gearjunkie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009   #4
pnw, Washington
It made me extremely uncomfy and there are better designs out there for the beginning boater. For my part, there are many things in kayaking to make you feel uncomfortable. I dont want my boat to be one of them.
"Yesterday I was clever and tried to change the world. Today I am wise and try to change myself." -Rumi
gh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009   #5
Portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2000